Research Guides: ADN Nursing: Find Articles

Core Databases

The following databases have information and scholarly articles specific to nursing and allied health.

If you have trouble accessing online content, please contact the library or email health sciences liaison, Samantha Mueller.

SJC access only, you will be asked to login if off campus

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive set of nursing and allied health resources with full text for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, this authoritative file contains full text for more than 1,300 journals, many with no embargos, and over 1,460 journals with searchable cited references. CINAHL Complete boast 71% more full-text journals than are available in CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing different types of high-quality, journal articles, trade serials, books and diagrams to inform healthcare decision-making. Database include Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window This is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. It covers medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. It also has full text for nearly 150 journals and is updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 scholarly journals and full text of nearly 550 of them. Updated daily, this database focuses on a wide range of medical disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
UptoDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Provides drug, disease and toxicology information to the healthcare professional. This database also includes patient education, lab test and diagnostic procedure information.
Medline This link opens in a new window Access to all indexing of the National Library of Medicine, Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and The Index to Dental Literature. Provides table of contents information for 2,400 journals and a medical subject headings index.
- This link opens in a new window
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials and latest health news.
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Part of Academic OneFile
Nursing Video in Education This link opens in a new window Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

CINAHL Search- Getting Started

1. From the Library Homepage, click on 'Article Databases', then scroll to Allied Health & Nursing, then click on CINAHL

2. From the EBSCO/CINAHL page, click on 'Advanced Search (under the grey search bar), then use a keyword/search term per box

3. Refine your search results as needed on the left side after you click the green 'search' button

Keyword Basics

Keywords are the terms you use when searching a database. Unlike Google, databases don't try to read or interpret your searches to figure out what you need; databases simply match your search terms, your keywords, to the information they have on their articles.

To generate keywords, think about your search topic and write down the big idea terms. Don't think of it in terms of the question you want answered, think of it in terms of the words that would show up in your ideal article. Think of synonims to those terms and other related big picture words. Then do a search in one of our databases. Take note of what other words keep cominmg up, and add them to your list of keywords. This is a trial and error process, so give yourself some time and don't give up!