Research Guides: ENGL 1302| Professor Evans: Literary Analysis

The library's electronic databases include several sources of literary criticism. The databases frequently used for critical articles in literature research include:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature is our literary resource power search! Search all of our Gale Literature Databases in one place. This search engine includes Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literary Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Author Series Databases.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO , Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.

Artemis Literary Sources Advanced Search

Conducting an advanced search in the Artemis Literary database is easy.

From the main search page, choose Advanced Search:

The advanced search page allows you to choose which portions of the article record you want to search. Put the title of the work you are researching in the search box next to "Name of Work" and the author's name in the search box next to "Person by or about" you can also put in a subject keyword or character's name in the search box next to "Keyword."

When you click on Search, the database will filter the articles and only return those in your search results that match the author and title and contain the keyword you entered on the search screen.

Once your search results screen loads, you will notice that there are subject headings on the left-hand side of the page. Some of those subject headings include specific themes that are addressed in the work of literature. Read the articles carefully to discover if they address the particular theme you are researching.