Repositories/Archives have been created to make it easier to find and access available OERs.
Academic Earth - over 1,500 video lectures from MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale; a comprehensive collection of free online college courses.
Applied Math & Science Education Repository - although math and science are in the title, this repository of online educational content offers resources in a variety of other disciplines, too, including vocational education and health.
Commonwealth of Learning - hosted by the Government of Canada and headquartered in Vancouver, the Commonwealth of Learning (COL) helps developing Commonwealth countries increase their access to learning by using distance education and appropriate technologies. Some course materials are available.
Curriki – helping to equalize access to education globally, Curriki makes world-class learning materials freely available to educators, students, and parents around the world.
Galileo (GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online) - an online information initiative of the University System of Georgia, which includes a repository of open textbooks and ancillary materials.
iBerry - serving the international academic community since 1999, iBerry is a non-profit website connecting information and resources to learners, educators, researchers and anyone else with an interest in higher education.
Internet Archive - "... [a] constantly growing collection of Web pages and other forms of digital content ... freely available to researchers, historians, scholars, and others ... for purposes of benefit to the public."
iTunesU - participating educational and cultural institutions number in the thousands and make varying degrees of content freely available—from one-off video or audio lectures to full-blown courses complete with syllabi, lecture notes, iBook textbooks, quizzes, and more.
Khan Academy - a widely popular example of open educational resources, the Khan Academy offers tutorials primarily in mathematics and science but has expanded to include other subject areas.
Math Forum - the Math Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet, with a mission to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.
MERLOT - Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a project of California State University and offers peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials.
National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) - a project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education, NROC offers full courses, lessons, and learning objects developed by membership institutions that follow lengthy pedagogical guidelines and who are then able to share courses, use others’, and integrate content into their own course management systems.
North Carolina Learning Object Repository - a collection of documents, audio & video clips, learning modules, and more. Subjects include agriculture, engineering, health, language arts, math, and technology.
OER Commons - this site provides a platform on which educators can create or remix open educational resources for lessons and modules. An extensive library includes lesson plans, video/audio lectures, syllabi, textbooks, simulations, and full courses. A section specifically for STEM-related materials is linked to the home page for easy access.
OER Knowledge Cloud - a joint initiative of Athabasca University and the Open University of the Netherlands, this site provides a fully-searchable database for publications pertaining to global OER efforts and developments.
Open Learning Initiative - The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Their aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.
OpenLearnWorks - supported by The Open University, this website provides a platform where users can create or remix free educational resources, or collaborate with others.
Open of Course - Open of Course publishes only educational information that is open content. Open content makes it possible to share educational information because the licenses explicitly allow that. Licenses one sees here are mainly GPL and Creative Commons licenses, which give users the right to share courses with others, print material, and spread it.
OpenDOAR - the OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world but mainly African institutions. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorization and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories. Each of the repositories has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to ensure a high degree of quality and consistency in the information provided.
OpenStax - the Connexions Consortium is dedicated to the design and development of collaborative, open educational content that is targeted at supporting education, research and related scholarly activities. The Connexions Consortium is a group of organizations and individuals, including the world's foremost leaders in education, who work together to direct the future development of Connexions and the open education movement.
The Orange Grove - Florida's open educational resource repository. This site includes open courseware, textbooks, 3D models, learning modules, and videos.
Saylor.org - since 2008, the Foundation’s free education initiative (www.saylor.org) has focused on exploring the promise of the Internet to drive the cost of education to zero and expand access to quality open educational resources (OER). Toward this end, Saylor has built over 300 free, self-paced, online courses, with many more on the way.
Scitable - an online repository of OER, such as multimedia, articles, and ebooks, provided by Nature Publishing Group; emphasis of materials on life and phyical sciences.
SkillsCommons - an online library created for the US Department of Labor's Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program to house OER materials that support students and faculty of workforce development programs.
temoa - an open educational resources portal provided by Tecnologico de Monterrey.
Textbook Affordability Project - this site, from the University of South Florida, provides links to various open access textbook repositories, including a brief description of each and covered subjects.
UNESCO Thematic Open Access Repositories - a portal of links connecting the user to worldwide scholarly data within the social sciences, engineering and technology, and medical sciences.
Wikiversity - a community for the creation and use of free learning materials and activities. Wikiversity is a multidimensional social organization dedicated to learning, teaching, research and service.
Wolfram Demonstrations Project - mathematical and scientific concepts "come to life" as interactive illustrations; requires downloading of free Wolfram CDF Player.