Some of these sites are completely open access, while other sites offer only selected images for open access. Many of these sites also contain advertising and/or offer images for sale. Be sure to read each site's conditions for use carefully – different images from the same site may have different use restrictions.
Please contact your librarian if you have questions.
85 Free Stock Photo Resources - an extensive list of free photos for any application. Below each link is a brief description of the website, information on Creative Commons license type, and a usability statement (verdict) for the website.
105 Free Stock Photo and Art Image Websites - this comprehensive guide explains image licenses, lists down free stock photo sites, and answers frequently asked questions about copyright.
Art Images for College Teaching - art and architecture images photographed by art historian and visual resources curator Allan Kohl.
Classroom Aid - Open Source Multimedia, Open Source Sound, Open Source Photos.
Compfight - enhanced search of Flickr content. Limit to Creative Commons.
Digital Public Library of America - the Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
EduPic Graphical Resource - William Vann provides free photographs and drawings for teachers and students to use in their classrooms. Mr. Vann is an amateur photograph (a good one at that) and a teacher. Mr. Vann gives permission to teachers and students to use the images in any manner needed for instructional and learning purposes.
Flickr: The Commons - a great feature from the popular photo sharing site Flickr where institutes such as The Library Of Congress, Powerhouse Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, and various users can post and share images that have no known copyright restrictions.
FlickrStorm - search overlay to Flickr. Retrieves images more images by using related tags. Select "Advanced" to limit to Creative Commons content.
Freeimages - the best site to locate free stock photos. The site contains in our opinion the best site to locate free stock photos. The site contains thousands of free images that can be used. While many of the pictures are free some of the images do require written permission first.
Google Images - to find images that can be reused and remixed, select "Advanced search" (located under Settings) on the main Google Images page. Once in the advanced search page, there will be usage rights options near the bottom of the page. In the usage rights menu, one can select one of five options, such as "free to use or share" or "free to use, share, or modify."
Liam's Pictures from Old Books - a good collection of original pictures from old books that are no longer copyrighted and considered public domain. This is a great place to find obscure and unique pictures and illustration.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online - images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.
MorgueFile - another fantastic location to locate high resolution digital stock photography. The site offers thousands of free images almost all that have no restrictions or agreements attached. In addition the site requires no login to download the high quality files.
National Gallery of Art - with the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. They are available for download at the NGA Images website (images.nga.gov)
Open-i - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central.
Pexels - a great place to find thousands of images in the public domain. These free stock photos are organized by category and can be used in any way that students and instructors see fit.
Pixnio Public Domain Images - public domain images, royalty free stock photos, copyright friendly free images. Not copyrighted, no rights reserved. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use.
PublicDomainPictures.net - a repository for free public domain images. Download high quality HD photos or upload your own. Make money from your hobby, gain popularity and improve your photographic and graphic skills. If you intend to use an image you find here for commercial use, please be aware that some photos do require a model or property release. Pictures featuring products should be used with care.
Unsplash - a collection of free high-resolution photos; a subscription provides access to 10 new photos every 10 days.
U.S. Government Graphics & Photos - site linking to other U.S. government sites containing hundreds of thousands free and public domain images linking to image categories such as air force, forests, animals, army, birds, coast guard, crops, fish, fire, fruits, geology, Indians, lab research, mammals, money, mountains, NASA, navy, parks, plants, presidents, space, storms, veggies, volcanoes, war, wildlife, and much more.
Wikimedia Commons - fantastic media repository that is part of the Wikipedia umbrella project where users are free to use any of the sites photos, audio, videos, and other media freely.
Yahoo! Images - when you search for images using Yahoo's image search tool, you can select filters to refine results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. The filters allow you to select filters for images that can be used for commercial purposes or images that are licensed for remixing and building upon.
Open Clip Art Library - public domain contemporary graphics contributed by users.
Open Icon Library - open collection of icons.
Wikimedia Commons - Crystal Clear Icons - icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons.
Wikimedia Commons - Tango Icons - icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons.
Moving Images / Videos
C-SPAN Video Library - one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content.
HippoCampus.org - offers more than 5,700 free videos in four academic areas: math, natural science, social science, and humanities.
Internet Archive - contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Museum of the Moving Image - the Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
Open Video Project - the purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.