Finding Articles - INRW 0301 | Weisz - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

Can't I Just Google It?

The simple answer is No, you can't just Google it. The San Jac libraries pay for your access to the databases we provide, therefore that information is not available for free on the internet. Our vendors want to make sure that only San Jac students access this information, which is why you have to login when you are using an off-campus computer.

Evaluating Websites

Often you are allowed to use the Internet for some of the sources in your paper. There's a lot of information out there, so you need to be careful that you are citing valid information.

Websites should be evaluated based on the criteria below:

Authority- who made the page and is this person credible?
Purpose/Intended Audience- why did they make the page and who should read it?
Currency- is the information up to date?
Objectivity- is the author unbiased and fair?
Support- is the information provided cited and factual?

Evaluating Web Resources
More info on Evaluating Resources from Duke University

Databases for Social Issues Topics

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints' unique features include viewpoint article frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL

Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays that are written to give a review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy in today's news. Each essay includes a bibliography and links to related magazine, journal and newspaper articles, as well as hyperlinks to biographies, news updates and relevant websites. Covers more than 600 Hot Topics. VIDEO TUTORIAL | HELP SHEET

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This full-text database of peer-reviewed academic journals covers nearly all areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts, and literature. Content from these databases is also available: Computer Source, Health Source, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Science, Religion and Philosophy and the Sociology Collection. DEDICATED GUIDE | HELP SHEET |VIDEO TUTORIAL

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306