Skip to main content

Test Prep

The San Jacinto College Libraries subscribe to two databases that contain practice tests for college and career standardized tests. So, instead of buying that CLEP or HESI study guide, try the Learning Express Library (LEL) or the Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC) database. In the databases you can take and retake practice tests and access online study guides. Click on the tabs above to learn how to use each database.

Quick Start

  1. Click the Learning Express Library link above.

  2. Login to your Account.

  3. Enter the title of the test you wish to study into the search box.

  4. Choose which practice test you wish to study.

Registering for the Learning Express Library

Why do I have to register?

You can access a variety of educational resources from the Learning Express Library interactive, online learning platforms (including NCLEX practice tests). You must create a personal account in order to save your work in progress, store score reports, and revisit any practice tests, tutorials, or eBooks. Registration only requires a valid email address and a password.

It is best if you do a first time register from an on-campus computer at San Jacinto College and that you use the link above to access the Learning Express Library. San Jacinto College pays for your access to this database and you must pass through the schools proxy server in order to use the database without being asked to pay for anything. When using the database from an off-campus computer you will be asked to provide your name and G# when you pass through the proxy server.

Step 1: Click on Register in the top right hand corner of the Learning Express Library:

Step 2: Fill out the registration form as requested:

Step 3: Login with your new registration information.

Choosing a Career Test (NCLEX exam is used in the example below)

Step 1: Click the link above and login to your Learning Express Library Account.

Step 2: Choose the Career Center from the All Centers drop down menu:

Step 3: Choose Nursing from the Allied Health Menu and Launch which test you wish to practice for:

Step 4: Read the introductory information about the test and choose your Test Mode, then click on Start Test.

Simulation mode matches the timing you will find on your official examination. If you select this mode, you will not be able to complete the test once the time is up.

Practice mode enables you to take a timed test, but if the timer runs out you are not prevented from completing the test. The timer is intended to help you pace yourself in preparation for real testing situations.

Learner mode allows you to view the answers to test questions as you go along, to help you study.

If you need to leave a practice test in the middle and want to save it for later:

Click the "Save and Finish Later" button at the top of the page to save your work.

Next time you Login to the Learning Express Library, click on My Center to see your saved work:

Question:   Why do you need to register?

Answer:   Registering is the only way we can show you your test scores and progress each time you use a practice test or course.

Steps to Register:

1. Click on the database link above.

2. If you are off campus, login according to the on-screen instructions (this only gets you in to the database, you still have to create a registration to use the database.)

3. Choose your career area from the Career Tools pull down menu. (for this example, we are searching for the NCLEX exam)

4. Choose the test you wish to study for.

5. Click on Start Now to be prompted to login or register.

6. Register as a new user.

7. Fill in the registration form as requested. You are not required to use your San Jacinto College email address for registration.

Using the practice exams in the Testing and Educational Reference Center database is very easy.

1. Once you have registered and logged in, simply click on Continue.

2. Your list of practice tests will load, simply click Start next to the practice test of your choice.

Exam Prep Books in the Testing and Educational Reference Center Database

You may also choose to peruse test study books in the Testing and Educational Reference Center Database.

1. Simply choose the book you wish to view online from the list of books on your Career Tools page.

Loading ...

www.sanjac.edu/library | North Library: 281-459-7116 | Central Library: 281-476-1850 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306