If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu
For this assignment, you will select a current United States political issue and write a minimum 1000 word research paper. You will describe the issue and look at the different perspectives for that issue.
Each of the tabs above provide useful useful information to help you find useful resources for your paper and link to help with your in-text and works cited page.
When using the catalog to search for books or the databases to search for articles, use keywords to find useful information on your topic. For example, if you have a topic like abortion with a lot of information, you will need to narrow your search by focusing on a specific aspect of abortion. Try using one of the search terms below:
These are not the only keyword searches you can use if abortion is your topic. These are just some examples for possible searches. No matter your topic, when narrowing your search, be sure to include the word "and" between your terms.
If you are having trouble selecting a topic for this assignment, there is a note on the Databases Tab that will direct you to two databases with a list of topics to choose from. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian for help.
Each of the books below are one in a series that may be useful in your research. Each series provides essays and information on a variety of social and political issues. (NOTE: Essays found in the Opposing Viewpoints Series are also available electronically through the Opposing Viewpoints database.)
CQ Researcher Bound Volume 2016 by
CQ Researcher offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current and controversial issues affecting our world.
Homelessness and Street Crime by
Books in the Current Controversies Series examine a variety of issues. Use these books for sources representing all sides of the issue you're researching.
How Can the Poor Be Helped? by
Books in the At Issue Series provide a wide range of opinions on a variety of political and social issues. Each book focuses on a different topic.
Mental Illness by
Books in the Opposing Viewpoints Series address different political issues. Each issue includes essays looking at both sides of the argument.
Social Welfare by
Books in the Information Plus Reference Series focus on social and political issues. Each book focuses on a specific topic and provides up-to-date research, legislation, and more.
The databases listed below will help you find articles and essays related to your research topic. Read the information below the name of the database to help you decide which one to use.
NOTE: If you're having trouble selecting a topic, Issues & Controversies and Opposing Viewpoints both allow you to browse topics included in that database.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowRemember, you must cite any time that you use information from one of your sources. Even if the information is paraphrased or "put in your own words", it still needs to be cited.
Use this handout to help you with your citations:
https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306
