Frear - GOVT 2306 | Texas Government - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Students will analyze a governmental or political issue surrounding GOVT 2306. Students will evaluate the issue and provide background and viewpoints about the issue. Students may compare or contrast the viewpoints to support the overall conclusion about the issues.

Students will select one issue from below that references a selected question addressed in GOVT 2306.

Texas Constitution
Question: Is the Texas Constitution Obsolete or Is It Needed in Texas in the 21st Century?

Texas Governor
Question: What does leadership in Texas Really mean at the Executive level?

Political Parties in Texas
Question: Are Political Parties in Texas Contributing to the Strength or Weakness of the State?

Higher Education in Texas
Question: What is a key challenge to Higher Education in Texas?

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

Newspaper Source Plus Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Sources include AP, CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI and Xinhua.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Essays that are written to give a review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy in today's news. Each essay includes a bibliography and links to related magazine, journal and newspaper articles, as well as hyperlinks to biographies, news updates and relevant websites. Covers more than 600 Hot Topics. VIDEO TUTORIAL | HELP SHEET

Remember, you must cite any time that you use information from one of your sources. Even if the information is paraphrased or "put in your own words", it still needs to be cited.

Use this handout to help you with your citations:

Chicago Citations Simple

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306