Parent - GOVT 2306 | Texas Government - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to:

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Your assignment requires you to select a Texas political issue and address the various sides of the issues drawing personal conclusions based on your analysis of the issue. You will have to conduct research on the topic you have selected, including information from various sources such as books, journals, and magazines/newspapers. The resources on this page will help you in brainstorming and selecting the topic you would like to research. If you need any help, please contact a reference librarian.

Map of Bills Filed by the 86th Texas Legislature An interactive map showing the bills filed for the 86th Legislature according to the district they originated in.
Texas Legislature General Reports Generate reports on the most recent bills and legislation for the Texas House and Senate, as well as historical reports.

Databases provide you access to countless journal articles, newspaper articles, ebooks, videos, and much more! The best part? They are available to you 24/7, on or off campus--which means you can do research from home even if the library is closed!

Just click on the link for the database to get started. If you're off campus, you'll have to log in with your student ID number. If you have questions or need help using the database, please contact a reference librarian or check out some of our video tutorials.

Newspaper Source Plus Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Sources include AP, CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI and Xinhua.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints' unique features include viewpoint article frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Essays that are written to give a review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy in today's news. Each essay includes a bibliography and links to related magazine, journal and newspaper articles, as well as hyperlinks to biographies, news updates and relevant websites. Covers more than 600 Hot Topics. VIDEO TUTORIAL | HELP SHEET

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

You will use MLA style to cite your information. You are also required to do in-text citations. Refer back to the assignment requirements tab to get specifics about how Professor Parent wants your in-text citations to look.

MLA 9th Edition Citation
Purdue OWL - MLA Formatting and Style Guide Use this link to help you create your in-text citations and works cited page.

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306