Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Homepage

GOVT 2306 | Texas Government

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu


chat loading...

Why should you use databases?

The Internet has a lot of junk. It can be difficult to find articles and good information. That’s where databases can help! In fact, there are good reasons to use databases instead searching the Web: 

  • Easy: Databases are designed for research. Once you learn how, using them is easy and relatively fast
  • Trustworthy: Many articles in databases are peer-reviewed and come from scholarly journals, so the information is vetted
  • Free: Many articles on the web are hidden behind paywalls and cost money. Databases are free

If you need to do some serious research, databases are often a great choice!

Suggested Databases


Database Searching Tips


Searching in the databases can be tricky, especially since they are all slightly different. Here are some basic tips to get you started:

  • Use keywords instead of phrases. Try searching for "nurse AND education" instead of "how much school do I need to be a nurse?
  • Limit your results to Full Text to make sure the database only brings you articles you have full access to 
  • Limit your results by date. A good date range is 5 to 7 years to make sure you're not looking at outdated information.
  • Look for the citation button. Most databases have a citation button where you can find a ready-made citation for the article

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306