Skip to main content

Academic Search Complete

Chicago/Turabian Notes-Bibliography Style

Your instructor may refer to this citation style as Turabian, or Chicago, or Chicago / Turabian, these terms refer to the same style of research paper writing and documentation, see below. The Article Databases subscribed to by the library may offer a Chicago style citation choice, or a Chicago / Turabian Humanities, or Chicago / Turabian Author Date choice.

"The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system." (http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html)

"Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, sixteenth edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers." (http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/turabian/turabian_citationguide.html)

https://www.sanjac.edu/library | North Library: 281-459-7116 | Central Library: 281-476-1850 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306