CINAHL Complete

CINAHL Complete comes from a company called EBSCO. SanJac gets many databases from EBSCO, so you can search more than one database at a time.

In order to maximize your search results, you may want to search more than one health database. Just keep in mind that other health databases may not have all the same limiters that CINAHL Complete does. 

Once in CINAHL, click the Choose Databases link located just above the search box:

A window will appear that lists all of the databases SanJac purchases from EBSCO. To find out more about your options, click on the bubble after each database name for a description of what you'll find in the database.

Some of the other health science databases we get from EBSCO:

 AHFS Consumer Medication Information - Published by the American Society of Health System Phamacists, AHFS is a recognized sources for patient drug information.

Alt Health Watch - This database provides full text for 180 alternative health publications. You will discover in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas in complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.

Health Source – Consumer Edition - This is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. It covers medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. It also has full text for nearly 150 journals and is updated daily.

Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition - this database contains full text for over 550 scholarly journals, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to over 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MedicLatina - This is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals from renowned Latin American medical publishers. You will have access to the full text of nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.

MEDLINE with MeSH - created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the subscription version of PubMed. MEDLINE provides access to MeSH, the Medical Subject Headings (you can more information about MeSH and subject headings under the CINAHL Headings tab).  

Natural & Alternative Treatments - This is a database of nearly 200 articles on medical conditions and the alternative medicine therapies proposed for treatment. It also contains detailed, evidence-based information on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy.

Salud en Español: Consumer Health Complete in Spanish - This database provides topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. Salud en Español is the one stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets that are all in the Spanish Language. Topics include disease, mental health and alternative medicine.

Check the boxes for the databases you'd like to search, and then click OK:

After you click OK, you'll go back to the main screen, where you can search with keywords and set limiters. It will look like you're only searching one database, but your results will come from the different databases you selected. You're maximizing your search efficiency by searching more than one database at once!

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu