Research Guides: Career Research (EDUC 1100, GUST 0305, PSYC 1100): Websites

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations.

O*Net
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!

Bright Outlook
Look at various careers and see which ones will be growing in the future.
Browse Careers by Industry
Learn more about various career fields by looking at industries that seem interesting. This leads to a snapshot of various jobs and careers and tells you the prospects for the future.
Career One Stop
Collection of links to state job databases and job search guidance.
The Career Project
A free online database of thousands of career profiles designed to help students and young professionals get the “inside scoop” as to what it's really like to work in a given field.
CollegeScope.com
Link to the Do What You Are career assessment. You may have to take this as part of your career project. If you don't have a login yet, you'll have to use the blue Register Here button. Make sure to register using your SanJac email address.
ETC Salary Calculator
Provides accurate salary information for given job titles and markets, factoring years of experience and education.
Green Jobs
Jobs related to the Green economy.
Holland Code Quiz
Rogue Community College presents the Holland Code Quiz, a short self-test to discovering a wise career path for you.
Job Hunters Bible
Tips for conducting career research on the web and links to job search sites.
My Next Move
An interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options, including tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers.
O*Net Interest Profiler
A quick way to learn more about your interests and how they match up with careers and jobs that in areas that enjoy.
Salary.com
Search typical salaries for a career by zip code.
Student Jobs
Federal government jobs for college students and recent graduates.

The San Jacinto College Career Services website has some great resources.Click on the link below to open their page in a new window.

Optimal Resume - provides resume, cover letters, portfolio, and website builders - choose the template you want and just insert your own information into the template. You can even record a sample interview on webcam and send it to the Career Center for feedack. Sign in or create a free account with your SanJac student email address.

Focus 2 - a career planning program that offers free tests to find out which career is right for you, Focus 2 also has detailed profiles that list the requirements, salary, and duties of a variety of occupations. To log in, use "career" as the access code. If you have any questions or problems with logging in, contact the Career & Employment Center at 281 922 3488.

Achieveworks - a free, online test to help you determine which careers suit you best. Click on the Register Here button to get started.

San Jacinto College Career Services
We support student success by providing students and alumni with the tools necessary to bridge education with employment while promoting lifelong career development.

Here is the pattern for citing your Focus 2 and Achieveworks assessments in APA 7th edition format:

(Be sure and include the entire web address in your own citation)

Career Dimensions (2020). Focus 2 Career. http://www.______

Human eSources (2020). Achieveworks. http://www._____

Here's how to cite the Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*net in APA 7th edition format:

Librarian. (n.d.). Occupational Outlook Handbook. Retrieved September 16, 2020 from

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm

39-4031.00-Morticians, undertakers, and funeral directors. (n.d.). O*net online. Retrieved September 16, 2020

from https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/39-4031.00

Of course in both cases you would put your own job title / retrieved date / and url in the citation, but you get the idea.

Here is the pattern for citing your Focus 2 and Achieveworks assessments in MLA 8th edition format:

Career Dimensions. Focus 2 Career. 2020, http://www_____

Human eSources. Achieveworks. 2020, http://www._____

Here's how to cite the Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*net in MLA 8th edition format:

United States, Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Librarians.” Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17

Edition. 17 Nov. 2020, www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-andlibrary/librarians.htm.

"39-4031.00 - Morticians, Undertakers, and, and Funeral Directors." O*NET OnLine, National Center for

O*NET Development, www.onetonline.org/link/summary/39-4031.00. Accessed 11 November 2020.

Of course in both cases you would put your own job title / retrieved date / and url in the citation, but you get the idea.

University at Buffalo - 40 Questions to Ask in an Informational Interview
Provides a list of sample questions to ask during an informational interview.
UC Berkeley - Informational Interviewing
Presents a thorough overview of informational interviewing, including a step-by-step guide and a list of sample questions.

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306

Career Research (EDUC 1100, GUST 0305, PSYC 1100)

Here is the pattern for citing your Focus 2 and Achieveworks assessments in APA 7th edition format:

(Be sure and include the entire web address in your own citation)

Here's how to cite the Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*net in APA 7th edition format:

Of course in both cases you would put your own job title / retrieved date / and url in the citation, but you get the idea.

Here is the pattern for citing your Focus 2 and Achieveworks assessments in MLA 8th edition format:

Here's how to cite the Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*net in MLA 8th edition format:

United States, Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Librarians.” Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17 Edition. 17 Nov. 2020, www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-andlibrary/librarians.htm.

Of course in both cases you would put your own job title / retrieved date / and url in the citation, but you get the idea.

United States, Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Librarians.” Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17

Edition. 17 Nov. 2020, www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-andlibrary/librarians.htm.