PHRA 1349 | Professor Coronado

Library subscription databases contain a wealth of information that is searchable by subject. Use the search terms you have decided on for your topic to search in the library databases.

Click on one of the database links below to open the database, if you are off-campus or using your own device on campus sign in following the on-screen instructions to be directed to the database search screen. Enter your search terms in the search box and click on Search.

Scholarly, Academic, and Peer-Reviewed are interchangeable terms that describe a particular type of information published in journals and professional publications and most commonly found by searching the library subscription databases. you instructor REQUIRES you to have ONE source from a journal or professional article.

Scholarly journals differ from popular magazines in a number of important ways. Popular magazines are produced for a wide audience and provide basic information and/or entertainment. Scholarly journals are written for scholars, students, and researchers and exist to advance the cause of research in a given field.

Here are some clues that will help you identify scholarly journals. Scholarly journals:

• Usually contain an abstract, or summary, before the main text of the article.
• Contain reports of research results.
• Always cite their sources with footnotes and/or bibliographies.
• Have serious formats rather than the glossy, slick formats found in popular magazines.
• Contain graphs or charts detailing the research described by the article.
• Are written by scholars or researchers. The authors’ affiliations will be listed on the first page or at the end of the article.
• Are usually published by a professional organization.
• Assume some technical background on the part of the reader—the language used is discipline-specific.