Online Health Information: Federal Databases

"[This database] is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions."

"[This resource] is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content ... is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain."

This resource allows the user to explore topics such as cell biology, DNA function, chromosomes, heredity/inheritance patterns, epigenetics, genetic changes, and evolution.

"[This database] has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 1,000 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials."

A division of the National Library of Medicine, this organization maintains several databases to help scientific and medical communities to understand the fundamental molecular and genetic processes that control health and disease.

This link goes to an extensive list of other electronic resources from the National Library of Medicine.

This link is included in the MedlinePlus web site. Through here, one can learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

This open chemistry database is a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Because this database is "open," you can add your scientific data to PubChem and others can use it.