Find Sources - HUMA 1301 | Mythology - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Why should you use databases?

Easy: Databases are designed for research. Once you learn how, using them is easy and relatively fast
Trustworthy: Many articles in databases are peer-reviewed and come from scholarly journals, so the information is verified
Free: Reliable articles on the web are hidden behind paywalls and cost money, databases are free

Suggested Databases

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

Religion and Philosophy Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
- This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Part of Academic OneFile
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Gale Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
- This link opens in a new window

Why should you use books?

Free: Info that's true and that your professor will accept is hard to find for free. Library books are free!
Big Picture: Books can give you a detailed analysis of many sides of a topic, so you can use one book instead of several articles
Accessibility: Books provide background information and explain basic concepts and terms

Search for Books

Find Books and More!

Catalog Home

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306