Garib - ECON 2301 | Principles of Macroeconomics - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Topic:

The topic for this assignment is free trade. You will discuss why countries trade and answer the question: is everyone better off from trade? Use facts backed up by your research to prove your points.

Requirements:

Minimum word count: 750 words, not including the annotated bibliography.

Sources: At least 3 sources, overall. 2 must be peer reviewed journal articles sourced from a library database. No more than 1 from the list of reference articles provided. The textbook does not count as a source.

Formatting:

You will write a Chicago style paper. This means you must cite your sources using footnotes, and you must format your paper in a Chicago style. If you’re not familiar with Chicago style or you would like someone to proofread your paper, reach out to a San Jac librarian. Your paper must all be in the same font, 12-point, and double spaced.

You must use at least two peer-reviewed journal articles in your essay. Below are a list of databases that you may find helpful in searching for articles:

Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography. Part of Academic OneFile
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This full-text database of peer-reviewed academic journals covers nearly all areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts, and literature. Content from these databases is also available: Computer Source, Health Source, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Science, Religion and Philosophy and the Sociology Collection. DEDICATED GUIDE | HELP SHEET |VIDEO TUTORIAL
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints' unique features include viewpoint article frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Business provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Part of Academic OneFile

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

Suggested Keywords

For this paper, instead of a normal bibliography you will write an annotated bibliography. This means that after each citation in your reference page, you will analyze the source in at least 250 words.

To analyze an article, consider the following points:

Currency: the timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted?
Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs. Who is the intended audience? Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content. Has the information been reviewed? Can you verify any of the information in another source?
Purpose: the reason the information exists. Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear? Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Keep in mind that you may only use one of these articles in your paper.

Paul, Joel Richard. “The Cost of Free Trade.” The Brown Journal of World Affairs 22, 1 (Fall/Winter 2015): 191-209, https://www.jstor.org/stable/24591008

Carroll, Daniel R, and Sewon Hur. “The Winners and Losers from Trade.” Economic Commentary (September 30, 2019). https://www.clevelandfed.org/publications/economic-commentary/2019/ec-201915-winners-and-losers-from-trade

Linicome, Scott. “The Case for Free Trade.” Cato Institute. Cato Institute. May 2, 2019. https://www.cato.org/commentary/case-free-trade

Froning, Denise. “The Benefits of Free Trade: A Guide For Policymakers.” The Heritage Foundation. The Heritage Foundation. August 25, 2000. https://www.heritage.org/trade/report/the-benefits-free-trade-guide-policymakers

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306