Skip to Main Content
Welcome to the Eye Care Library Resources
Eye Care Databases
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive set of nursing and allied health resources with full text for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, this authoritative file contains full text for more than 1,300 journals, many with no embargos, and over 1,460 journals with searchable cited references. CINAHL Complete boast 71% more full-text journals than are available in CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. It covers medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. It also has full text for nearly 150 journals and is updated daily.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp provides drug, disease and toxicology information to the healthcare professional. This database also includes patient education, lab test and diagnostic procedure information.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Access to all indexing of the National Library of Medicine, Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and The Index to Dental Literature. Provides table of contents information for 2,400 journals and a medical subject headings index.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials and latest health news.
Orange Book This link opens in a new window
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations. The products in this list have been approved under section 505 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act and is updated daily.
Ophthalmology Board Certification
Web Resources: Eye Care
National Eye Institute
Conducts and supports research on eye disease and vision disorders. Offers free publication for the general public and patients.
National Library of Medicine
The largest medical collection and coordinates PubMed, a database of millions of references to articles published in medical journals. Provides free online searching of the medical literature through MEDLINEPlus and links to health information topics.
Braille Circulating Library
Loans Braille materials, talking books, audiocassettes, and large print materials.
National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
Provides free library service to individuals with visual impairments. Offers Braille and large print materials and records books and periodicals.
Supports research, education, clinical care, safer/more effective treatments, early diagnosis and awareness related to retinoblastoma. Provides online information to parents, family, and friends, as well as medical education and hands-on training in the management of retinoblastoma to health care professionals.
https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306