To complete your annotated bibliography, you will need to find 2 additional sources. The library has a wealth of information in the databases for you to choose from. The tabs on this page will walk you though using the databases that will provide the best for your research.
You can access the suggested databases by clicking on the Article Databases tab, then the name of the database or you can go directly to the Article Databases page. Click on all databases, then click on your choice in the drop down list.
Your instructor has provided you with some topics for consideration. You can use some of the given phrases as your search terms (school to prison pipeline, prison industrial complex), but you will need to change/add words for other topics to get more or different results. For example, instead of typing "crack cocaine to powder cocaine disparity" in the search box, try using any of (or coming up with your own) the following searches:
If you need help with any aspect of your research, do not hesitate to contact a librarian (see Need Help? tab)!
Click on the link below to access the Academic OneFile and use the images to help you navigate the database and yield useful results.
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. All Gale OneFile Series databases are indexed in this database.
Type your search term in the search box on the home page and hit enter.
Your result list will look like this.
Now that you have limited your results to peer-reviewed articles only, the only results you see are those for academic journals. Also, if you want to make your results appear starting with the most recent rather than the most relevant, click on newest.
Click on the title to read the article.
Click here to see the libguide for Academic Search Complete. (Note: articles cannot be found in the guide.) Use the link below to access the database and begin your search.
This full-text database of peer-reviewed academic journals covers nearly all areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts, and literature. Content from these databases is also available: Computer Source, Health Source, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Science, Religion and Philosophy and the Sociology Collection. DEDICATED GUIDE | HELP SHEET |VIDEO TUTORIAL
Watch this video for an introduction to Academic Search Complete.
You should be able to find useful sources in either Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete. However, if you don't find the information you're looking for in either of those databases, the ones listed below will provide additional options.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism. Part of Academic OneFile
This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
When doing your annotated bibliography, be sure to follow any instructions given to you by your instructor. You can then use the Citation guide with helpful videos and handouts, Massey University's OWLL, or Purdue University's OWL to help you with your MLA citations.
CENTRAL CAMPUS LIBRARY |
Monday-Thursday
|
8060 Spencer Highway
|
GENERATION PARK LIBRARY |
Monday-Thursday
|
13455 Lockwood Rd., Bldg. 2; RM G2.105
|
NORTH CAMPUS LIBRARY |
Monday-Thursday
|
5800 Uvalde Road
|
SOUTH CAMPUS
|
Monday-Thursday
|
13735 Beamer Road
|
https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306