CINAHL Complete

The databases make it easy to work with articles in a variety of ways. To find your options, click on the title of any article from your results list and take a look at the Tools menu on the right side of the screen.

Folder

The Folder feature allows you to bookmark many articles to one folder, and go back through them once you're done searching. You must do something with the articles in your folder before you close the database - otherwise they will not be there for you the next time!

Click here for more information on using the folder feature. 

Print

The print icon here will print out the article detail page, but not necessarily the complete article itself:

• If you have an HTML Full Text article, where the entire text of the article appears on screen, using this print icon will print out the complete article.

• If you have a PDF Full Text article, you must open the PDF and use the print icon at the top of the PDF to print the complete article.

Email

Emailing yourself articles from the database is convenient because the complete article will be included with the email. If the article is HTML Full Text, the complete article will be in the body of the email. If the article is PDF Full Text, it will be included as an attachment to the email.

Emailing yourself articles is also convenient because you can choose to have the database format an APA citation for the article in the email. It won't do it automatically, though. So once you click on the Email icon, choose the Citation Format bubble and pick the citation style you're using from the drop-down menu. In this example I've chosen APA:

Save: Like the Print option, using this Save link will save just the article detail page, not the entire article (unless you have an HTML Full Text article). If you have a PDF Full Text article, open the PDF and use the save icon at the top of the PDF to save a copy of the article to your hard drive or flash drive.

Cite: The database will format citations for you in a variety of citation styles, which can save you a lot of work! After clicking on the Cite link, a small window will open. Simply scroll down to the citation style you're using and copy and paste the citation.

Always remember to double-check citations you get from the database! Sometimes the database will make errors with the citations, so it is your responsibility to ensure the formatting, punctuation, and capitalization of the citation is correct. Click here for more help with citations.

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu