Research Guides: Eye Care Technology: Organizations

Eye Health and Diseases

American Behcets Disease Association Provides support and information to individuals with Behcet's disease, symptoms of which include ocular inflammation. Provides physician referrals. Coordinates a network of local support group. Holds an annual international conference.
American Uveitis Society Increase your knowledge regarding uveitis in the medical and research professions through instructional courses, clinics, lectures, and seminars.
Association for Macular Disease Education and information on macular disease through seminars, newsletters and a hotline. Counseling is offered to patients and families.
Cornea Research Foundation of America Mission to restore and preserve vision through clinical research and educational programs relating to disorders adn ldisease ofthe eye. Supoort research devoted to cornesl transplants, intraocular lens complications referactive surgery.
The Glaucoma Foundation Coordinates public education activities and encourages routine eye examinations. Funds research on the molecular genetics of glaucoma and on optic nerve regeneration. Provides referral to glaucoma specialists. Publishes public and patient education materials, including a newsletter, Eye to Eye.
Glaucoma Research Foundation Prevent vision loss from glaucoma by investing in innovative research, education and support individual and families. Provides a free newsletter about the glaucoma treatment andf reserach updates.
Macular Degeneartion Foundation Informational tool for patients, universities, and scientist. They have a resource consultant available to help patients identify agencies, organizations, or service in specific areas.
National Association for Pseudoxanthoma Elasticum Provides information on psedoxanthoma elasticum, a systemic disease that causes the body to produce defective connective tissue, and in the eye may cause retinal disease.
National Keratoconus Foundation Sponsors basic and clinical research as well as a public education program including self-help groups and seminars. Provides information to patients and eye care practitioners.
National Marfan Foundation Provides information about Marfan syndrome, a genetic disorder of the connective tissues in which dislocated lenses, early onset cataracts and retinal detachments are among the ocular symptoms common to Marfan patients.
Sjogren's Syndrome Foundation Provides support and education for people with Sjögren's syndrome and information to the medical community through local chapters. Publishes Moisture Seekers (newsletter) and The Sjögren's Syndrome Handbook. Distributes information on the complications of Sjögren's syndrome including dry eye (keratoconjunctivitis sicca).

Social Services for the Blind

Blind Veterans Associations
Links veterans with services, rehabilitation training and other benefits, nad helps them find jobs. Offers spoues and dependent children of blinded beterans a chance to contue therir education through the Kathern F. Gruber Scholarship Program.
EyeCare America
Provides comprehensive eye exams and care for up to one year, often at no out of pocket cost. Online referral, public service foundation of the American Academy of Opthalmology.
Guide Dogs for the Blind
Provides Guide Dogs and training in their use to visually impaired people throughout the Unites States adn Canada. Services are free.
National Consortiumon Deaf-Blindness
Works collaboratively with families, federal, state and local agencies to provide technical assistance, information and personnel training the the area of deaf-blindness.
National Federation of the Blind
The NFB improves blind people's lives through advocacy, education, research, technology, and program encouraging independence and self-confidence.
New Eyes for the Needy
New Eyes for the Needy provides vouchers for the purchase of new prescription eyeglasses. Eligible clients can receive a voucher through a social service agency or a school nurse, or directly from our office.
Helen Keller National Center for Death Blind Youth and Adults
Servies students in all 50 states and 100 countries. Programs areasa include Adult Continuing Education, High School, Family Education and Professional Education. Course maters are delivered in Braille, large-print, audio, and online formats. Courses are free of charge.
Vision USA
Provides free exams to low income individuals

Professional Organizations: Eye Care

American Academy of Ophthalmology Accrediting body for Ophthalmologist in the U.S. Offers public information for and clinical education programs in a variety of formats. Help to located local ophthalmologist.
American Academy of Optometry Seeks to maintain and enhance excellence in optometric practice. Research and the sissemination of knowledge in bothe basic and applied vision sceience.
American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Provides medical and surgical eye care of children and adults with strabismus. Proviedes information on common ehe problems amblyopia, retinopathy of prematurity, conjunctivitis.Also helps locate pediatric opthalmologist in thier loca area.
American Board of Ophthalmology Certifies ophthalmologists (eye physicians and surgeons) in the United States. The American Boaard of Ophthalmology offers physicians certification information and verification of certication to the public free of charge by phone.
American Health Assistance Foundation Funds research on glaucoma and macular degeneration around the world. Educates the public about the dangers of these disease and provides important information and resources to the general public.
American Optometric Association Represents optometrist in the U.S. Provides research on eye problems for the general public and professional materials on eye care delivery. Coordinates InfantSEE, a public health program designed to ensure early detection of eye conditions of infants.
American Society of Ocularist Professional and educational organization founded by professional specializing in the fabricating and fitting of custom-made ocular prosthetics (articial eyes). Offers referrals to local ocularist, information on eye prosthesis care, surgical procedures, and FAQ's about eye prosthesis.
International Foundation for Optic Nerve Disease Promotes research into causes, prevention, and treateemnt of optic nerve disease.
Macula Vision Research Foundation Mission is to find the cause, prevention, treatment and cure for macula visions diseas the goal of saving sight and providing public education, advocacy and support to those with macular degeneration.
National Optometric Association Provide assistance to new graduates, as well as established minority optometrists, towards the enhancement and updating of optometric knowledge, skills and professional practice; career placement; and the procurement of financial aid.
Women In Opthalmology Women In Ophthalmology was founded to enhance and improve the professional environment for women ophthalmologists
Contact Lens Association of Opthalmologists providing ophthalmologists, optometrists, and other eye care professionals with leading edge information in contact lens and related vision science.