SOCI 1301 | Introduction to Sociology

Searching in the databases can be tricky, especially since they are all slightly different. Here are some basic tips to get you started:

• Use keywords instead of phrases. Try searching for "Texas AND abortion" instead of "what are the current restrictions on abortion in Texas?" 
• Not every article you find in the databases will be complete. Some will only be a citation or a summary. Limit your results to "Full Text" to only see articles you can read every word of online. 
• Some databases let you limit your results by date. When you need the most up-to-date information this limiter can be a real life saver!
• Look for an option to create a citation for the article right in the database. This can be a quick and easy way to create your Works Cited or References page. 
• Remember that the databases aren't right for everything! If you're looking for general information there are other sources that may work better such as encyclopedias, handbooks, or trusted websites.

Maximize your search results by searching multiple databases at once.

•  You can search more than one of our databases from EBSCO at the same time. Open one of the databases and click on the name of the database link above the search box:

• Then check off the boxes for the databases you'd like to search:

Click on “Advanced search” to reach more filters.

Try an Advanced Search to combine different search terms and keywords

• Type in you keywords, one at a time in each box.  (texas , houston, queso)

               Some examples:

                            ADHD, method, result, conclusion

                            Texas, laws, firearms

                            “Space exploration” , ethics

   

Filter the results by: Full text; Peer reviewed; the last year, 5 years, or 10;  or “type”