Maima Skeele - EDUC 1301 | Introduction to Teaching - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

You will choose a main topic from the ones listed in the following tabs and formulate an inquiry question for you to research. Based on your reasearch, you will create a literature review.

You are asked to locate at least 15 educational journal articles on your topic and write an 10-15 page literature review on the articles you've selected.

What is an inquiry question?

An inquiry question is simply the question you're trying to answer by conducting your research. Look through the main topics in the following tabs and consider what you'd like to know more about regarding these topics. You can use the subtopics to help guide your question or go in a different direction if you're interested.

There are no simple yes or no answers to a good inquiry. Be prepared to spend some time looking through databases for articles that pertain to your question.

What is a literature review?

A literature review is something between a reference page and an essay. In a literature review, you will go through several sources one by one summarizing and examining them for their usefulness and validity. You will organize those sources according to their contents and overall provide an overview of the information already available regarding your research question.

Steps to complete your literature review:

Choose an educational topic that you are interested in studying.
Formulate an inquiry question that specifically describes what would like to know about your educational topic.
Go to the library to search for and locate journals that include your topic's information.
Find articles, read the abstracts and skim the articles to determine if they correspond well to your topic AND inquiry question.
Select at least 15 journal articles and save them for your project.
Read your articles and begin to sort and classify them according to their findings.
Organize your articles by sorting and classifying their findings in a meaningful way, always considering your original topic and inquiry question.
Create a Literature review matrix where you will categorize the themes and record the sources.
Write an outline for your small-scale literature review. You will share this with the class.
Write your review.

Challenges to U.S. Education in the 21st century

Subtopics
- Diversity
- Immigration
- Bullying
- School segregation
- Equity
- LGBTQA

Safety in Schools

Subtopics
- School violence
- Disease Control
- Drills (practice)
- Bullying
- Youth Risk Behavior

Culturally Responsive Curriculum and Pedagogy

Subtopics
- Culturally responsive teaching
- Culturally responsive mental health + SEL curriculum
- Critical Race theory- What is it?
  - Why is it under Attack?

Racial Justice in Education

Subtopics
- History
- School segregation
- School to Prison Pipeline
- Teacher bias
- Systemic racism in schools
- Restorative Justice

Immigration policy and Education

Subtopics
- Migrant students and Education
- Unaccompanied migrant children at the border
- English language learners
- Children of migrant laborers

Mental health in schools

Subtopics
- Social and Emotional Learning
- Mindfulness in schools
- Outdoor classrooms and mental health
- Effect of Pandemic (COVID 19) on students
- Online learning

Teacher Retention in Schools

Subtopics
- Teacher pay/salaries
- Job/career satisfaction
- Impact of declining retention
- Working conditions
- Teacher Persistence

Go To Resources

The following is a short selection of places where you may be able to find sources for your literature review. It is not exhaustive.

Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Part of Academic OneFile
ERIC This link opens in a new window Eric is an educator's premier resource for journals, books and reports on all topics in K-12 and Higher Education. Most articles not directly linked to full text in this database can be retrieved through eric.ed.gov. Please ask your librarian for assistance.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. All Gale OneFile Series databases are indexed in this database.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints' unique features include viewpoint article frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

Extras

The sources below are good places to look for extra information, although they will not fulfill the criteria for your literature review. For your literature review please use one of the library's databases, some of which are listed above. You won't find academic journal articles below, but there may be good information.

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Swank is a streaming video service that includes feature films, independent films, documentaries, TV shows and more. It is available on both desktop and mobile. VIDEO TUTORIAL
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand is a streaming service that provides access to thousands of videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and archival films & newsreels. It is available on both desktop and mobile.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Use this link to access your very own year-long subscription to The New York Times, 1851-present. Once registered, you can sign on directly to The New York Times via the Website or APP. After a year you will be required to re-authenticate with the library. Please note: Articles from 1923-1980 are restricted to 5 per person per 24-hour period. Activation Instructions

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306