Find Articles - GOVT 2305 | Federal Government - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Why should you use databases?

Easy: Databases are designed for research. Once you learn how, using them is easy and relatively fast
Trustworthy: Many articles in databases are peer-reviewed and come from scholarly journals, so the information is verified
Free: Reliable articles on the web are hidden behind paywalls and cost money, databases are free

Suggested Databases

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This full-text database of peer-reviewed academic journals covers nearly all areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts, and literature. Content from these databases is also available: Computer Source, Health Source, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Science, Religion and Philosophy and the Sociology Collection. DEDICATED GUIDE | HELP SHEET |VIDEO TUTORIAL
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints' unique features include viewpoint article frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism. Part of Academic OneFile
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window Provided free of charge by HeinOnline, this collection brings together more than 500 titles on gun regulation in the United States. The collection features over 500 scholarly articles as well as federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court Briefs and more.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. Part of Academic OneFile

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This website provides primary sources dating back to 1790 and dealing with various aspects of the ongoing struggle faced by African Americans in achieving true equality in the United States.

Database Searching Tips

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6350 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6350 ext. 3306