Research Guides: BSN Research Guide: Community Health

Community Health Databases

Educational and Community-Based Programs, HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Each topic area includes an overview, objectives and data, and evidence-based resources.

Multilingual and Multicultural Resources

CDC in Spanish
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)'s website in Spanish.
more...less...
Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Culture & Health Literacy, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Practitioners and organizations can increase communication effectiveness when they recognize and bridge cultural differences that may contribute to miscommunication.
more...less...
Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Centers (CDC)
EthnoMed
EthnoMed aims to be a convenient source for social and cultural details relevant to clinical care.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparages
Directory to multilingual websites, resources, programs, and funding opportunities on a variety of health topics. Includes statistical data, ScHARe (Science Collaborative for Health Disparities and Artificial intelligence bias REduction) , HD Pulse, and the The PhenX Social Determinants of Health (SDOH) Collection (PhenX Toolkit).
Journal of Transcultural Nursing
Journal of Transcultural Nursing (TCN) is a peer-reviewed journal that offers nurses, educators, researchers, and practitioners theoretical approaches and current research findings on multicultural health care.

*This resource includes Open (free) content as well as Restricted (at-cost, non-SJC) content.
more...less...
Journal of Transcultural Nursing (TCN) is a peer-reviewed journal that offers nurses, educators, researchers, and practitioners theoretical approaches and current research findings that have direct implications for the delivery of culturally congruent health care and for the preparation of health care professionals who will provide that care. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Think Cultural Health, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Think Cultural Health features information, continuing education opportunities, resources, and more for health and health care professionals to learn about culturally and linguistically appropriate services, or CLAS.
more...less...
Launched in 2004, Think Cultural Health is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Office of Minority Health.
Houston Health Department: Equity in Action
Includes The Advancing Health Equity Newsletter.