BSN Research Guide: Policy, Government Websites, Health Care Statistics, and Data

Provides information about CDC offices and programs that focus on policy-related matters and on various laws, regulations, and policies that have public health implications.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Each topic area includes an overview, objectives and data, and evidence-based resources.

The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. FDA also has responsibility for regulating the manufacturing, marketing, and distribution of tobacco products.

This LibGuide from the University of Denver provides links to Health related statistics and datasets. Additional datasets and statistics organized by subject and geographic area.
are included.

AHRQ is one of twelve agencies within the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The agency is charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. The website includes data, research, demonstration projects, and evaluations; developing guidelines; and disseminating information on health care services and delivery systems.

The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health. CHR&R contains data for the entire U.S. organized by county and state. Webinars and other multimedia content is included.

Google's Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.

The FastStats site is organized alphabetically by topics. It provides quick access to statistics related to public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), is an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. This website includes government data, policies, and statistics.

Along with including cancer statistics, this website provides the following topics: research, treatment, prevention, and coping.

National repository of vital records, data visualizations, surveys, analysis of health and healthcare.

The National Survey of Children's Health is part of the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau (HRSA/MCHB).