Research Guides: BSN Research Guide: Public Health

News and Trends in Public Health

More general and multidisciplinary library databases are also good resources for staring your research. They won't be as in-depth, but they provide a broader perspective.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

American Journal of Public Health, American Professional Health Association (APHA)
The American Journal of Public Health is the monthly journal of APHA. The most influential public health professionals around the world contribute report and provide analysis related to current, authoritative, in-depth information. News update related to public health trends are frequently added.
Health, Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank covering the issues, attitudes and trends. Information on this site includes: public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Public Health Annual Review
Open Access (freely available) journal, online magazine, and timely news and updates on public health and related topics.
Trust of America's Health
Timely information on public research, programs, and policies. The non-partisan non-profit is a healthy policy organization.

Global Health in the News, Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC's news reports and updates on global issues related to disease and prevention.
Global Health NOW, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), noncommunicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

Public Health Information: Harris County and Greater Texas

Harris County and Texas

Houston State of Health
The Houston State of Health reports present the most current information on disparities and equity in Houston/Harris County.
more...less...
The most current information on disparities and equity in Houston/Harris County. The data reports are presented in two sections, the first on root causes of the disparities seen in our area and the second its impact on morbidity and mortality.
Harris County Public Health, Harris County Public Health (HCPH)
Data and reports on Harris county's public health priority issues for 2013-2020.
Kinder Institute for Urban Research, Rice University
The Kinder Institute for Urban Research is a multidisciplinary think-and-do tank. The Houston Area Survey 2020.
more...less...
Provides research, data and policy analysis on issues, including education, governance, housing, mobility and transportation, resilience, and demographics.
Texas Health and Human Services, Texas Department of Health and Human Services
Specific to Texas, this website provides statistics and information on many topics including but not limited to: birth and death records, consumer protection, health and wellness, disaster response, and infections disease control.

U.S. Government Data on Public Health Resources

CDC Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER)
CDC WONDER manages nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics. These data collections are available as online databases, which provide public access to ad-hoc queries, summary statistics, maps, charts, and data extracts. Most of the data are updated annually.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R), University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health. CHR&R contains data for the entire U.S. organized by county and state. Webinars and other multimedia content is included.
Data.gov, United States, General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service
The site is a repository for federal, state, local, and tribal government information, made available to the public.
FastStats, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The FastStats site is organized alphabetically by topics. It provides quick access to statistics related to public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
HealthData.gov
On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), is an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. This website includes government data, policies, and statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
NCHS collects data with surveys, from other agencies and U.S. states, from administrative sources, and from partnerships with private health partners. NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing. These diverse sources give perspectives to help understand the U.S. population's health, health outcomes, and influences on health.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results. Health and medicine are among the dozens of scientific disciplines covered.
United States of America, World Health Organization (WHO)'s Country Profile
The WHO's U.S. country profile page provides health data and statistics. Examples include: mortality rates, nutrition, and burden by disease.
USAFacts, in partnership with Penn Wharton Budget Model and the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR)
USAFacts is a not-for-profit, nonpartisan civic initiative providing the most comprehensive and understandable government data. A variety of topics such as healthcare, immigration, and workforce statistics are included, as well as analysis.
Educational and Community-Based Programs, HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Each topic area includes an overview, objectives and data, and evidence-based resources.

BSN Research Guide: Public Health

San Jacinto College Resources: Core Public Health Databases

News and Trends in Public Health

Public Health Information: Harris County and Greater Texas

U.S. Government Data on Public Health Resources