KerrHeraly - HIST 1301 | American History Before 1877 - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Use the box below to help you search for books. Not only will you find books at the north campus library, you may also find useful books at both the central and south libraries. If you don't want to go to either campus, you can have the books sent to the north library. If you need help requesting a book from another campus, please be sure to ask a librarian.

Below are some reference books with primary source materials that may be useful for your assignment. Each book is located in the reference collection at the north library.

The African-American Archive
Call Number: Ref E 184.6 A33 2001
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
American Civil War
Call Number: Ref E 464 H55 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-20
The American Nation
Call Number: Ref 173 A747 2008
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
American Revolution
Call Number: Ref E 203 A577 2000
ISBN: 0787637904
Publication Date: 2000-06-21
The American Revolution, 1754-1805 Note: Set has 2 volumes
Call Number: Ref E 203 A5727 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
The Civil War, 1860-1865
Call Number: Ref E 464 C4384 2014
ISBN: 9781429837460
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Colonial America
Call Number: Ref E 187 S23 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Exploration and Colonial America (1492-1755) Note: set has 2 volumes
Call Number: Ref E 187 E96 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation, 1803-1860 Note: Set has 2 volumes
Call Number: Ref E 338 M25 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Milestone Documents in African American History Note: All of vol. 1 (1619-1852) and a portion of vol. 2 (1853-1900) have useful primary sources.
Call Number: Ref. E 184.6 M55 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Primary Sources - Reconstruction Era
Call Number: Ref E 668 G85 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-19
Reconstruction Era (1865-1877)
Call Number: Ref E 668 R385 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
War of 1812
Call Number: Ref E 354 H79 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-11
Westward Expansion
Call Number: Ref E 179.5 P384 2001
Publication Date: 2000-09-29

In these databases you will find articles from scholarly journals.

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Part of Academic OneFile
U.S. History (In Context) This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

If the video doesn't load, please click HERE to view it!

In the databases below, you will find a variety of primary sources including: newspapers, photographs, letters, documents, and more.

The following are primary source databases you can use through the library.

AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 is the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Use this link to access your very own year-long subscription to The New York Times, 1851-present. Once registered, you can sign on directly to The New York Times via the Website or APP. After a year you will be required to re-authenticate with the library. Please note: Articles from 1923-1980 are restricted to 5 per person per 24-hour period. Activation Instructions
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.

Primary Sources

The American Civil War These websites include digitized newspaper archives for both the Union and Confederate sides of the struggle, collections of letters and diaries, digitized photographs, maps, and official records and dispatches from the battlefields.
Digital Public Library of America DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. On this site you will find photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This digitized collection of information contains papers, documents, diaries, photographs, presidential information, and more.
National Archives The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper that has holdings dating back to 1775.
New York Public Library Digital Collections The New York Public Library Digital Collections have everything from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more.
Portal to Texas History A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This website provides primary sources dating back to 1790 and dealing with various aspects of the ongoing struggle faced by African Americans in achieving true equality in the United States.

Secondary sources

National History Day Research Links for Students
Women in American History Short biographies and additional information about a few notable women in American History.
Legacies of World War I A series of webinars exploring the varied legacies of the first world war, sponsored by National History Day and the U.S. World War I Centennial Commission.
African American History Month This websites contains a wealth of information and resources about African American history.
Asian Pacific American Heritage Month This website contains varied information and resources on all aspects of Asian/Pacific American history.
Hispanic Heritage Month A collection of information and other resources about the history of Hispanic people in the United States.

Chicago_Turabian (Notes-Bibliography) Handout

Chicago Manual of Style
Chicago Manual of Style Introduction from the Purdue OWL This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
Chicago Style Guide Massey University Get help with APA citations and use the interactive feature to modify and view examples for footnotes and the bibliography.

Search the Book Catalog

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306