Loftin - Final Essay - HIST 1301 | American History Before 1877

Click on the following link to download instructions and a grading rubric for the Final Essay.

This link is for a guide on writing cause and effect essays.

Cause and Effect

This link is for the Power Point presentation How to Write History Essays.

How to Write History Essays

Click on the following link for examples of various thesis sentences.

Thesis Sentence Templates

Abolition : Books & Primary Sources

The agitators : three friends who fought for abolition and women's rights by Dorothy Wickenden
Call Number: E445 .N56 W53 2021
ISBN: 9781476760742
Publication Date: 2021

American Slavery As It Is: Testimony of a Thousand Witnesses, edited by Theodore Dwight Weld This collection of firsthand accounts and testimonies from slaves and abolitionists provides a detailed examination of the conditions and realities of slavery.

Carry me back : the domestic slave trade in American life by Steven Deyle
Call Number: E449.D525 2005
ISBN: 9780195310191
Publication Date: 2005

Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation 1838-1839, by Frances Anne Kemble This firsthand account by Fanny Kemble, an English actress married to a slaveholder, provides a critical perspective on the brutality and inhumanity of slavery.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window This library database contains full-text coverage of William Lloyd Garrison's Liberator for 1831-1865 and Frederick Doughlass's North Star for 1847-1855. To find either newspaper, click on the link above and then click on Advanced Search near the top of the home page. On the next page that appears, click on Publication Search and then type the newspaper title into the main search box.

The Papers and Writings of Abraham Lincoln Click on the link above and scroll down to see a full table of contents. Volumes III to VII cover the years 1858-1865.

Uncle Tom's cabin, or, Life among the lowly by Harriet Beecher Stowe
Call Number: PS2954 .U5 2007
ISBN: 9780486440286
Publication Date: 2007

The Underground Railroad Records, edited by William Still This compilation documents the stories of fugitive slaves who escaped to freedom through the Underground Railroad. It includes interviews, letters, and records of their journeys.

Unsung : unheralded narratives of American slavery & abolition by Michelle D. Commander, editor
Call Number: E444 .U57 2021eb
ISBN: 9780143136088
Publication Date: 2021

Slavery : Books & Primary Sources

Carry me back : the domestic slave trade in American life by Steven Deyle
Call Number: E449.D525 2005
ISBN: 9780195310191
Publication Date: 2005
Defining documents in American history : dissent and protest (1635-2017) by Aaron John Gulyas
Call Number: HM881 .D57 2017eb
ISBN: 9781682172926
Publication Date: 2017
John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry : a brief history with documents by Jonathan Earle
Call Number: E451 .E17 2008eb
ISBN: 9780312392802
Publication Date: 2008
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave by John R. McKivigan et al. (editors); Frederick Douglass (author)
Call Number: E449 .D749 2016
ISBN: 9780300204711
Publication Date: 2016

Slave Narratives: a Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews These narratives originate from interviews with former slaves and were conducted between 1936 and 1938 as part of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).

Unsung : unheralded narratives of American slavery & abolition by Michelle D. Commander, editor
Call Number: E444 .U57 2021eb
ISBN: 9780143136088
Publication Date: 2021
The zealot and the emancipator : John Brown, Abraham Lincoln and the struggle for American freedom by H. W. Brands
Call Number: E451 .B795 2020eb
ISBN: 9780385544009
Publication Date: 2020

Court Cases and/or Politics and Laws : Books & Primary Sources

Defining documents in American history : Supreme Court decisions (1803-2017) by Michael Shally-Jensen, editor
Call Number: KF4550 .S87 2017eb
ISBN: 9781682175859
Publication Date: 2017
Dred Scott v. Sandford : a brief history with documents by Paul Finkelman
Call Number: KF4545 .S5 F558 2017eb
ISBN: 9781319048983
Publication Date: 2016
It wasn't about slavery : exposing the great lie of the Civil War by Samuel W. Mitcham
Call Number: E458 .M58 2020eb
ISBN: 9781684512232
Publication Date: 2020
Unsung : unheralded narratives of American slavery & abolition by Michelle D. Commander, editor
Call Number: E444 .U57 2021eb
ISBN: 9780143136088
Publication Date: 2021

AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 is the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. All Gale OneFile Series databases are indexed in this database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This full-text database of peer-reviewed academic journals covers nearly all areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts, and literature. Content from these databases is also available: Computer Source, Health Source, Professional Development Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Science, Religion and Philosophy and the Sociology Collection. DEDICATED GUIDE | HELP SHEET |VIDEO TUTORIAL
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Part of Academic OneFile
U.S. History (In Context) This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

YouTube: Heather Cox Richardson

Heather Cox Richardson - The American Paradox: Part 2 Begin this video lecture at 17:30. From that point, Dr. Richardson discusses the significance of cotton in the southern economy, the growing differences between the North and the South, and the issue of slavery.

Films on Demand

The Civil War: Episode 1 - The Cause (1861) (From the film description) Beginning with a searing indictment of slavery, this program dramatically evokes the causes of the war.

C-SPAN Lectures in History

Annenberg Learner: A Biography of America

PBS LearningMedia: U.S. History

Besides the websites below, you might also find primary sources here:

Google Books

Internet Archive

Project Gutenberg

The African American Odyssey: a Quest for Full Citizenship This resource from The Library of Congress contains links to several primary sources pertaining to slavery.
The American Yawp: a Massively Collaborative Open U.S. History Textbook Volume I covers U.S. history topics before 1877.
The Declaration of Causes of Seceding States For five states - Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, and Virginia - primary source transcriptions explain their reasons for separating from the Union in 1860-61.
Digital History This website from the University of Houston contains several articles about the Pre-Civil War Era (1815-1861) as well as links to primary sources.
Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) features a link to various primary source sets.
Khan Academy - US History: The Civil War Era (1844-1877) The first subunit, Sectional tension in the 1850s, includes these topics: Early Abolition, Uncle Tom's Cabin, and Dred Scott v. Sandford.
Sage American History: a Survey of America's Past The link for Antebellum America 1840-1860 (left column) includes several articles and documents pertaining to slavery and abolition.
Slavery & Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s This resource from Dickinson College contains links to various documents related to antislavery movements.
Slavery in America: a Resource Guide This [research] guide "...provides access to Library of Congress digitized primary sources, links to related websites, and a print bibliography."

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306