AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 is the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. All Gale OneFile Series databases are indexed in this database.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Use this link to access your very own year-long subscription to The New York Times, 1851-present. Once registered, you can sign on directly to The New York Times via the Website or APP. After a year you will be required to re-authenticate with the library. Please note: Articles from 1923-1980 are restricted to 5 per person per 24-hour period. Activation Instructions
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
U.S. History (In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
6 Works of Art That Shaped America’s View of Natives
The article presents six examples of how early American painters used their creative licenses to make political or social statements—influencing public opinion, helping to justify concepts like Manifest Destiny, or even calling to task governmental powers for their treatment of Natives.
Civil War Diaries - Virginia Tech
Diaries written by soldiers from both Union and Confederate forces during the Civil War that are part of Virginia Tech Special Collections.
Civil War Diaries and Personal Narratives
Collects a great number of personal accounts of the combatants, often written just after the event. There are also numerous collections of Civil War letters and diaries, many written by prominent officers, men of considerable literacy, who were quite conscious of the historical importance of the conflict.
Propaganda from the American Revolution
Presents pieces of propaganda that were printed in papers and pamphlets, and delivered throughout the colonies. These images were a patriotic call to arms and the sentiments conveyed in them inspired other wartime art generations later.
https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6350 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6350 ext. 3306
The Anti-Federalist Papers and the Constitutional Convention Debates by 
Dred Scott V. Sandford by 
The Federalist Papers by 
Historical Dictionary of American Propaganda by 
Major Problems in the Era of the American Revolution, 1760-1791 by 
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation, 1803-1860 by 
A People's History of the U. S. Military by 