Loftin - Mid-Term Essay (Signature Assignment) - HIST 1301 | American History Before 1877

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Click on the following link to download instructions and a grading rubric for the HIST 1301 Signature Assignment.

Signature Assignment: History 1301/1302

The following links go to the topics and readings for the HIST 1301 Signature Assignment.

Need help citing your sources? Click the link below for a convenient citation guide.

Citation

Voting : Books & eBooks

The embattled vote in America : from the founding to the present by Allan J. Lichtman
Call Number: JK1846 .L53 2018
ISBN: 9780674972360
Publication Date: 2018
The fight to vote by Michael Waldman
Call Number: JK1846 .W35 2016
ISBN: 9781501116490
Publication Date: 2017
The right to vote : the contested history of democracy in the United States by Alexander Keyssar
Call Number: JK1846 K48 2000b
ISBN: 0465029698
Publication Date: 2001
The second founding : how the Civil War and Reconstruction remade the Constitution by Eric Foner
Call Number: KF4541 .F66 2019
ISBN: 9780393652574
Publication Date: 2019

Articles / Websites

Biographical Sketch of Hon. David Buel, Jr. A twelve-page biography of David Buel, Jr., prepared by his son Samuel Buel in 1879 and reproduced as an ebook in Google Books.
The Evolution of Suffrage Institutions in the New World This PDF document was a collaboration between Stanley L. Engerman and Kenneth L. Sokoloff for the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
Hon. David Buel, Jr. This digitized biography of David Buel, Jr., originally appeared in the History of Rensselaer Co. [County], New York, published in 1880.
James Kent This biographical article of James Kent, once the Chief Justice of the New York Supreme Court, is maintained by The Historical Society of the New York Courts.
James Kent: American Jurist This biographical article of James Kent was written by The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica.
League of Women Voters Made up of more than 700 state and local Leagues around the country, volunteers register new voters, host forums and debates, and provide voters with news and election information.
A People's History of the United States, 1492-present - Chapter 4: Tyranny Is Tyranny This chapter offers an explanation of the controversy around universal voting. (Once you are at the desired page number, click on the headphone symbol in the toolbar below the book.)
USA.gov: Voting and Election Laws This page in the US government's website provides links to information related to federal voting and election laws.
Voting in Early America Regular contributor Ed Crews wrote this article for the CW (Colonial Williamsburg) Journal.
Voting Rights: A Short History By the Carnegie Corporation of New York: "The struggle for equal voting rights dates to the earliest days of U.S. history. Now, after a period of bipartisan efforts to expand enfranchisement, Americans once again face new obstacles to voting."

Videos

The Constitution, the Articles, and Federalism Crash Course US History video in which host John Green teaches you about the Constitutional Convention and some of the compromises that had to be made in creating a new national constitution.
The History of U.S. Voting Rights GPB Education presents this video, which covers the history of voting rights, including women's suffrage and Black disenfranchisement.

Women and Equality : Books & eBooks

Betsy Mix Cowles : champion of equality by Stacey M. Robertson
Call Number: E449.C865 R63 2014
ISBN: 9780813347714
Publication Date: 2013
The bonds of womanhood : "woman's sphere" in New England, 1780-1835 by Nancy F. Cott
Call Number: HQ1418 .C67 1997
ISBN: 9780300072983
Publication Date: 1997
The feminist promise : 1792 to the present by Christine Stansell
Call Number: HQ1150 .S723 2010
ISBN: 9780679643142
Publication Date: 2010
Lucy Stone : an unapologetic life by Sally G. McMillen
Call Number: JK1899.S8 M36 2015
ISBN: 9780199778393
Publication Date: 2015
The road to Seneca Falls : Elizabeth Cady Stanton and the First Woman's Rights Convention by Judith Wellman
Call Number: HQ1413.S67 W45 2004
ISBN: 9780252071737
Publication Date: 2004
Sojourner Truth's America by Margaret Washington
Call Number: E185.97.T8 W37 2011
ISBN: 9780252078019
Publication Date: 2011
The woman who dared to vote : the trial of Susan B. Anthony by N. E. H. Hull
Call Number: KF223.A58 H85 2012
ISBN: 9780700618491
Publication Date: 2012
Women's rights by Shasta Gaughen
Call Number: HQ1236 W65265 2003
ISBN: 0737708484
Publication Date: 2002
Includes The Declaration of Sentiments and Resolution

Articles / Websites

Coverture: The Word You Probably Don't Know but Should This article from the National Women's History Museum gives an extensive explanation of the principle of coverture.
The Cult of Domesticity & True Womanhood Defined by Catherine Lavender An extensive definition of The Cult of Domesticity & True Womanhood, written by Professor Catherine Lavender of Weber State University, Ogden, Utah.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton This biographical article of Elizabeth Cady Stanton was edited by Debra Michals, PhD, and appears on the National Women's History Museum website.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton This article appears on the Biography.com website.
George H. Williams (1823-1910) A biographical sketch of George H. Williams provided by the Oregon Encyclopedia.
National Women's History Museum Through its state-of-the-art online presence, the National Women's History Museum tells the stories of women who have transformed our nation.
A People's History of the United States, 1492-present - Chapter 5: A Kind of Revolution This chapter details the beginnings of the market economy after the American Revolution that moved women toward a fight for equality. (Once you are at the desired page number, click on the headphone symbol in the toolbar below the book.)
Sojourner Truth's Ain't I a Woman Speech This website provides two versions of Sojourner Truth's famous speech, including an audio recording of it.
Women & the American Story: Coverture This short lesson plan from the New-York Historical Society Museum & Library provides an explanation of the principle of coverture.

Videos

What Happened at the Seneca Falls Convention? History Channel video about the Seneca Falls Convention of 1848, which would signal the birth of the women's rights movement in America.
Women in the 19th Century Crash Course US History video in which host John Green talks about the Christian Temperance Union, the Seneca Falls Convention, the Declaration of Sentiments, and many other things that made life better for women.

This page shows a list of selected databases for your Signature Assignment research. Click here for a list of all library databases.

AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window This database provides digital access to American periodicals published in the years from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window On the main page, click Go to Topic Finder (under SEARCH TOOLS) and try these topics: Women's Rights Gender Equality
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window On the main page (under FEATURED RESOURCES), click All Issues A to Z to see these topics: Equal Rights Amendment Women's Rights Voter Identification Laws Voting Rights
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Click Browse Issues on the main page to see these topics: Equal Rights Amendment Voter Registration Voting Laws Women's Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Part of Academic OneFile

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306