Stromberg - Honors - HIST 1302 | American History After 1877 - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to:

ASK A LIBRARIAN

African American Heritage This link opens in a new window Search essential historical records for African Americans, including federal census, marriage and cohabitation records, military draft and service records, registers of slaves and free(d) persons of color, Freeman's Bank and more.
Handbook of Texas This link opens in a new window This online resource is an encyclopedia of Texas history, politics, and geography. The encyclopedia entries include a bibliography at the end to point you toward additional research sources. Check out the entries for the Battle of Sabine Pass and the Austin City Limits music festival for examples.
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Sources include AP, CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI and Xinhua.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window Use this link to access your very own year-long subscription to The New York Times, 1851-present. Once registered, you can sign on directly to The New York Times via the Website or APP. After a year you will be required to re-authenticate with the library. Please note: Articles from 1923-1980 are restricted to 5 per person per 24-hour period. Activation Instructions
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law This link opens in a new window Provided free of charge by HeinOnline,the Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law collection contains an array of primary and secondary source materials focusing on slavery and in particular slavery within the United States. The collection contains scholarly articles, select books chapters, slavery statutes, judicial cases and a comprehensive bibliography.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.

Advancing Democracy by Amilcar Shabazz
Call Number: LC214 .22 T48 S53 2004
ISBN: 0807828335
Publication Date: 2004-01-30
African Americans in South Texas History by Bruce A. Glasrud (Editor)
Call Number: E185.93.T4 A39 2011
ISBN: 9781603442299
Publication Date: 2011-06-08
African Americans of Houston by Ronald E. Goodwin
Call Number: F394.H89 N43 2013
ISBN: 9780738584874
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
NASA and the Long Civil Rights Movement by Brian C. Odom (Editor); Stephen P. Waring
Call Number: TL521.312 .N363 2019
ISBN: 9780813066202
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Black Soldiers in Jim Crow Texas, 1899-1917 by Garna L. Christian
Call Number: UB418.A47 C48 1995
ISBN: 0890966370
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Houston Bound by Tyina L. Steptoe
Call Number: F394.H89 A27 2016
ISBN: 0520282582
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
A Night of Violence: The Houston Riot of 1917 by Robert V. Haynes
Call Number: F394.H8 H39 1976
ISBN: 9780807101728
Publication Date: 1976
The Other Great Migration by Bernadette Pruitt; M. Hunter Hayes
Call Number: F394.H89 N48 2013
ISBN: 9781603449489
Publication Date: 2013-10-24

Buffalo Soldier Museum The Buffalo Soldiers National Museum is the only museum dedicated primarily to preserving the legacy and honor of the African-American soldier in defense of the United States of America from the Revolutionary War to present.
Civil Rights in Black and Brown Oral History Project Not one but two civil rights movements flourished in mid-twentieth century Texas, and they did so in intimate conversation with one another. While most research on American race relations has utilized a binary analytical lens—examining either “black” vs. “white” or “Anglo” vs. “Mexican”—Civil Rights in Black and Brown: Oral Histories of the Multiracial Freedom Struggles in Texas collects, interprets, and disseminates new oral history interviews with members of all three groups.
Houston History Houston History, a magazine published by the Center for Public History at the University of Houston, is the voice of history and culture throughout the Houston area. Use the search bar to locate resources for your research topic. You can also browse through the "Past Issues" link for full text articles.
Houston Oral History Project - Gregory School Interviews The Oral History Collection at The Gregory School captures rich, under-documented experiences from individuals who contribute to African American culture and offers a first-hand view that is Houston's African American experience.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program - The Houston Post The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas, including newspaper articles from The Houston Post (1903-1924).
Texas Historical Commission The Texas Historical Commission (THC) is the state agency for historic preservation. We save the real places that tell the real stories of Texas.
Texas Institute for the Preservation of History & Culture African Americans have contributed significantly in all facets of the building of the Lone Star State — its infrastructure, image, and culture. The Texas Institute for the Preservation of History and Culture is charting every aspect of the black experience in Texas as an online encyclopedia.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This website provides primary sources dating back to 1790 and dealing with various aspects of the ongoing struggle faced by African Americans in achieving true equality in the United States.

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306