Signature Assignment - HIST 1302 | American History After 1877

Chat with a Librarian

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

Signature Assignment

Analyze opposing perspectives on an American historical issue set after 1877.

Your professor may have changes to this requirement, so always make sure to check their instructions.

Some instructors require you use a scholarly historical periodical. This means a peer-reviewed article(scholarly) focused on history(historical) from a recognized academic journal(periodical). You can find these using the databases below.

Some instructors want you to use a newspaper article from the time period. AAS Historical Periodicals is a good source for that.

You may need a book. You can search for a book at any of our campus libraries, including ebooks, using the search box below.

Books

Articles

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to full-text articles covering a wide array of topics including literature, history, economics, life science and the arts. HELP SHEET | VIDEO TUTORIAL **PLEASE NOTE: The entire JSTOR collection is currently being provided to us free of charge. After 6/30/2023 San Jac libraries will only have the following sections: Arts & Science I-IV, VII and Life Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Part of Academic OneFile
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues, a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. This database includes hard-to-find newsletters and NGO research reports, plus ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations. Part of Academic OneFile
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Use this link to access your very own year-long subscription to The New York Times, 1851-present. Once registered, you can sign on directly to The New York Times via the Website or APP. After a year you will be required to re-authenticate with the library. Please note: Articles from 1923-1980 are restricted to 5 per person per 24-hour period. Activation Instructions
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete provides full text periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion. This database also contains full text for more than 870 reference books, 73,000 primary source documents, 70,000 Associate Press videos and an Image Collection of 1.6 million photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Complete now offers PDF back files (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc.
- This link opens in a new window

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This website provides primary sources dating back to 1790 and dealing with various aspects of the ongoing struggle faced by African Americans in achieving true equality in the United States.

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6350 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6350 ext. 3306