Vogel - HIST 1302 | American History After 1877 - Research Guides at San Jacinto College

If Chat is offline, you can email questions to reference.librarian@sjcd.edu

For this assignment, you will need to analyze a historical issue pertaining to the time period covered in your history course by comparing at least 2 opposing perspectives.

Use the following resources to help you in locating and research the subject of your project. If you need any assistance, please contact a reference librarian.

U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Part of Academic OneFile
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This website provides primary sources dating back to 1790 and dealing with various aspects of the ongoing struggle faced by African Americans in achieving true equality in the United States.

All San Jacinto College Library Databases

The Texas State Historical Commission uses historical markers to memorialize many historically-significant people, places, and events in Texas. For this assignment, the student will select a person, place, or event and propose to the instructor a new historical marker for a site in Texas. The subject of the proposed marker should be appropriate for commemoration and the historical event, place, or person should relate to the course (U.S. History after 1877). The subject should not already be designated with a marker.

Use the following resources to help you in locating and research the subject of your project. If you need any assistance, please contact a reference librarian.

Handbook of Texas This link opens in a new window This online resource is an encyclopedia of Texas history, politics, and geography. The encyclopedia entries include a bibliography at the end to point you toward additional research sources. Check out the entries for the Battle of Sabine Pass and the Austin City Limits music festival for examples.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window The database features full text for more than 1,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, full text for more than 100 leading history periodicals and 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical videos.
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window

Texas Historical Commission - State Historical Markers Historical markers commemorate topics in Texas history like important buildings, events that changed the course of local and state history, and individuals who have made lasting contributions.

Remember, you must cite any time that you use information from one of your sources. Even if the information is paraphrased or "put in your own words", it still needs to be cited.

Use this handout to help you with your citations:

Chicago Citations Simple

https://www.sanjac.edu/library| Central Library: 281-476-1850 | Generation Park Campus: 281-998-6150 x8133 | North Library: 281-459-7116 | South Library: 281-998-6150 ext. 3306